top of page
Search
  • sweetbasilarts

Distraction in an Artist's Life


Sometimes I'll go for days and days, fully expecting every morning to do 'lots of painting' and ending the day without a single thing to show for it. That makes me wonder what in the world is wrong with me, just pick the brush and go for it! And then one day, as I was procrastinating, I stumbled upon this video by Shoo Rayner - A day in the life of an artist - what on earth do I do all day? And I had a good laugh about all the distractions that can get in the way for an artist - and I didn't feel so alone. Not only am I a computer nerd - I can sit and surf all day, check Facebook and Twitter a million times, text, email, and until recently (OK, just today) mindless video games on my iPhone - but I also have an aging fox terrier who has become very clingy and loves to sleep in my arms, just as long as I can possibly hold him. Well, have you ever tried painting with one hand? Impossible! So...OK, I'll just watch a few videos while he's snoozing. Before I know it - dinner time! Day's over! That is why I continue to sign up for classes, and go to studio sessions, to make sure I don't just fritter all this golden time away.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Having begun my journey as an artist...

After a long and successful corporate career, I've come back to being my artist self. I've actually taken classes throughout the years (25+) to balance out all that left-brain thinking so I had a lot

bottom of page